Unexpected Reverse Culture Shocks of Returning to the U.S.

Chris Eubanks
6 min readAug 22, 2022
Photo by Joris Beugels on Unsplash

People Still Really Want to Be Successful in the U.S.

This is refreshing to be around. It can also be delusional for some people. Some people spend decades trying something that they will never be good at. Most of the travelers I spoke to in Europe have resigned to living a simple relaxing life. We do not really have that option in the U.S, because many of us are a layoff away from poverty. However, it is energizing being around people who are excited about their endeavors.

Impulse Buying

Everyone I know has Amazon packages arriving every week. Having lived out of a suitcase for the past 2 years, I do not buy anything that will increase my luggage weight. People’s mudrooms are full of packages, and their closets are full of unused gadgets. Europeans carefully plan their purchases, and someone told me to only buy a Winter jacket at one shop, because there was a sale. In saying this, I understand that the U.S. economy has so many high paying jobs, because we have an economy full of consumers.

I am no economist, but I have to speculate that so many fad gadget companies would go under if we did not have a populace of impulsive consumers.

Being Out of the Expat Circles is Mind Numbingly…

--

--

Chris Eubanks

Language learner. Rapidly learning the Finnish language. Follow me for specific knowledge to speed up your language journey.